GSC Overview

ISACC is a member of the Global Standards Collaboration (GSC) initiative that is comprised of the standards bodies listed below.

The GSC is a unique by-invitation only meeting which brings many of the top standards leaders from Canada, the U.S., Asia, and the EU together to discuss global standards priorities and to collaborate on the development of global standards for the ICT industry. GSC Members exchange information on the state of the global standards development environment and seek ways to enable ICT standards development in a timely manner for the deployment of new features and services. GSC Members also update each other on major standards accomplishments during the past year, current programs, and specific priorities in their regions.

In addition to Plenary sessions attended by all of the Heads of Delegations (HoDs) and Delegates, GSC conferences may also include:

The current GSC Members are as follows:

ARIB   Association of Radio Industries and Businesses (Japan)
ATIS   Alliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions (USA)
CCSA   China Communications Standards Association
ETSI   European Telecommunications Standards Institute
ISACC   Information and Communications Technology Standards Advisory Council of Canada
ITU   International Telecommunication Union
TIA   Telecommunications Industry Association (USA)
TTA   Telecommunications Technology Association (Korea)
TTC   Telecommunications Technology Committee (Japan)

Observers from several other prominent ICT standards-related organizations have also been invited to GSC meetings (e.g. ISO/IEC JTC 1, IEEE Standards Association, Open Mobile Alliance).

The ITU maintains a repository of documents of all previous GSC meetings. This repository can be accessed at:

GSC meetings are nominally held every 15 months. ISACC hosted GSC-16 (in 2011) in Halifax, and both GSC-8 (in 2003) and GSC-2 (in 1995) in Ottawa.



© ISACC Contact Us | Feedback | Policies